Connect with us


Cross River Presidential Election Results: Labour Party Takes Center Stage

Labour Party dominates Cross River’s presidential election results.



Cross River Presidential Election Results: Labour Party Takes Center Stage

Stay Connected And Informed! Follow Us On Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter

Cross River State witnessed a surprising victory in the recent presidential election as the Labour Party, LP, emerged as the winner in most polling units across the state. Early results from several polling units in Cross River State showed that the LP won by a significant margin in polling units declared. Although closely followed was the APC in some of the units, the LP dominated in several local government areas of the state.

The LP claimed victory in Yakurr LGA, which is dominantly controlled by APC. In addition, the Ministry of Agriculture Unit 014 Ijiman Ugep recorded the following results: Presidential – APC: 27, PDP: 12, LP: 35; Senate – APC: 31, PDP: 16, LP: 26; and Reps – PDP: 11, APC: 22, LP: 42.

In Ikom LGA, OFUTOP II ward, Playground Nsimaghe polling unit, the LP recorded a landslide victory. The results were as follows: Presidential – APP: 1, NNPP: 1, BOOB: 2, PDP: 2, APC: 7, LP: 185, Invalid: 17; Senatorial – ADC: 2, NNPP: 2, PDP: 59, APC: 21, LP: 131, Invalid: 10; and Reps – ADC: 1, NNPP: 1, YPP: 3, PDP: 50, APC: 26, LP: 131, PRP: 1, Invalid: 2.

At Old Etomi Road in Yakurr LGA, the LP clinched victory with 172 votes in the presidential election, leaving the APC with only 7 votes and the PDP with 11. LP also won the senatorial and House of Reps seats, with 85 and 87 votes, respectively.

In Ward 12 Unit 023, Orok Orok Street Calabar South Calabar South, LP recorded the following results: Presidential – LP: 160, APC: 26, PDP: 8, Invalid: N/A; Senatorial – LP: 95, PDP: 33, APC: 49, Invalid: 78; and Reps – LP: 93, APC: 57, PDP: 32, Invalid: 27.

The LP also won in Calabar south ward 4, where the results were as follows: Presidential – LP: 114, APC: 94, PDP: 47, Void: 17. In Ward 8 Unit 025 in Calabar Municipality, the LP won the senatorial and House of Reps seats with 54 and 52 votes, respectively, while APC took 33 votes in both. In the presidential election, LP won with 108 votes, while APC and PDP won 15 and 11 votes, respectively.

The LP continued its winning streak in Uwanse by Ibonda, Calabar South, with the following results: House of Reps – APC: 59, PDP: 62, LP: 79; Senate – APC: 64, PDP: 55, LP: 79; and Presidential – APC: 33, PDP: 17, LP: 138.

Lastly, in Yahe Ward PU 008 by Playground in Ogoja, the LP emerged victorious in the presidential election, winning with 72 votes, while APC and PDP secured 18 and 9 votes, respectively. The LP also won the House of Reps seat with 38 votes, while APC won 65 votes, and the PDP won 38 votes.

LP’s victory in Cross River State, a traditionally PDP stronghold, is seen as a major upset to the ruling party. Political analysts believe that the incumbent governor’s recent defection to the APC may have had an impact on the PDP’s performance in the state.

The APC, on the other hand, seems to have made some gains in the state, winning in some polling units in Yakurr LGA, which is traditionally an APC stronghold. However, the party’s overall performance in the state appears to be lackluster.

The LP’s strong showing in the state has been attributed to the party’s grassroots mobilization efforts and the popularity of its presidential candidate, who is seen as a fresh face in Nigerian politics.

As the collation of results continues, it remains to be seen whether the LP will maintain its lead or if the PDP and APC will make a comeback. With tensions running high, there is a need for political leaders to call for calm and respect the will of the people.

Share your story with us! Email


I have a passion for blogging about what's trending in Hip-Hop, politics and entertainment. I'm a huge Hip-hop fan; my favorite artiste are Chris Brown, Jay'z & Beyonce. I also enjoy spending time with my team (#TeamWE), and working hard as hard work pays off.


𝗖𝗼𝗽𝘆𝗿𝗶𝗴𝗵𝘁 © 𝟮𝟬𝟮4 𝗠𝗮𝗻𝗱𝘆 𝗡𝗲𝘄𝘀. 𝗔𝗹𝗹 𝗿𝗶𝗴𝗵𝘁𝘀 𝗿𝗲𝘀𝗲𝗿𝘃𝗲𝗱. 𝗠𝗮𝗻𝗱𝘆𝗡𝗲𝘄𝘀 𝗱𝗼𝗲𝘀𝗻'𝘁 𝘁𝗮𝗸𝗲 𝗿𝗲𝘀𝗽𝗼𝗻𝘀𝗶𝗯𝗶𝗹𝗶𝘁𝘆 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝘄𝗵𝗮𝘁'𝘀 𝗼𝗻 𝗼𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗿 𝘄𝗲𝗯𝘀𝗶𝘁𝗲𝘀 𝗼𝗿 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗻𝗲𝘄𝘀 𝘁𝗵𝗲𝘆 𝘀𝗵𝗮𝗿𝗲.