Buhari Appoints Lauretta Onochie As NDDC Board Chair

Buhari Appoints Lauretta Onochie As NDDC Board Chair

Buhari Appoints Lauretta Onochie As NDDC Board Chair

President Buhari appoints aide Lauretta Onochie as Chairman of the NDDC Board after she received a negative response to her presidential nomination as INEC National Commissioner in 2020.

Additionally, 15 other people were appointed by Buhari to the NDDC board of directors in a letter to Dr. Ahmed Lawan, the Senate President.

The Senate was urged to confirm the appointees in the letter, which was read aloud in Wednesday’s plenary.

The appointment has now generated a large amount of discussion online, and Nigerians are dissatisfied with it.

Your favorite blog, Mandy News, will remind you that in October 2020, Buhari nominated Onochie to serve as the Delta State representative for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Her appointment then sparked a great deal of outrage, with opposition politicians and civil society organizations demanding that she be disqualified on the grounds that she was too partisan to work for a delicate organization like INEC.

As part of her screening, she was also suspected of having an APC membership card, which she vehemently denied.

On the grounds of the federal character rule, the Senate denied her nomination.

Senator Kabiru Gaya, the chairman of the screening panel, claimed that Onochie’s native Delta State already had a commissioner of INEC in office and that approving her appointment would be against the law.

Following her recent selection as the Chairman of the NDDC Board, Nigerian internet users have promised to prevent the Senate from confirming her.

The names of those Buhari sent to the Senate are listed below.

The 15 additional candidates for the commission’s board of directors are Samuel Ibukun, the managing director; Charles Ehigie Airhiavbere, the director of finances; Charles Ogunmola, the director of projects; Dimgba Erugba (Abia); Ene Wilcox (Akwa Ibom); Pius Odudu (Edo); Gbenga Odegba (Ondo); Anthony Ekene (Imo); and (Rivers).

Sodique Sani, Tallen Mamma, and Mohammed Kabiru Abubakar, all from Nasarawa, are further candidates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top